Online Gambling

Online Gambling in Denmark

Online gambling in Denmark is monopolized by Danske Spil A/S, the national lottery in Denmark founded in 1948. It was previously known as Dansk Tipstjeneste A/S.

Danske Spil's first game was launched in May 8, 1949 - a 1-X-2 TOTO game with 12 football matches. Today Danske Spil A/S, offers a variety of games that includes: number games, instant games, knowledge games and gambling on machines.

Danske Spil began offering its products online in 2002.

Denmark's online gaming monopoly was challenged by the European Court of Justice (ECJ) and in 2008 the Danish government began the process of creating legislation and a licensing system for online gaming.

In October of 2009, it was reported that the online gambling laws hit another snag causing yet another waiting period. After reviewing the propositions made by Denmark, the ECJ decided that the laws did not adhere to the guidelines set by the commission.

Denmark must now wait until November 9 to move forward on its regulations. The European Gambling and Betting Association issued a statement that details its objections to the draft proposal. They explain that the licensing regime fails to take into account securities and controls that are offered by other EU jurisdictions and that the Danish state monopoly is continued on pool betting for horse racing.

Other points of contention include the introduction of ISP and financial transactions blocking and the prohibition of non-Danish players.

About Denmark

Denmark is a Scandinavian country in Northern Europe. The country of Denmark, together with Greenland and the Faroe Islands, comprises the Kingdom of Denmark.

Denmark is the southernmost of the Nordic countries, southwest of Sweden and south of Norway, and bordered to the south by Germany. Denmark borders both the Baltic and the North Sea.

Denmark consists of a large peninsula, Jutland (Jylland) and many islands, most notably Zealand, Funen, Vendsyssel-Thy (commonly considered a part of Jutland), Lolland, Falster and Bornholm, as well as hundreds of minor islands often referred to as the Danish Archipelago. Denmark has long controlled the approach to the Baltic Sea; before the digging of the Kiel Canal, water passage to the Baltic Sea was possible only through the three channels known as the "Danish straits".

Denmark is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system of government. Denmark has a state-level government and local governments in 98 municipalities. Denmark has been a member of the European Union since 1973, although it has not joined the Eurozone.

Denmark covers an area of 43,098.31 square kilometers (16,640 square miles) and has a population of 5,557,709.