Online Gambling

Online Gambling in Malta

Online gambling in Malta began in 2000 under the Public Lotto Ordinance. Since then, the Lotteries and Gaming Authority (LGA) has developed its policies and procedures of remote gambling operations.

The LGA is the single regulatory body that is responsible for the governance of all gaming activities in Malta including amusement machines, broadcasting media games, casinos, commercial bingo halls, commercial communication games, horse racing, the national lottery, non-profit games and remote Gaming.

In April of 2004, the Remote Gambling Regulations were revamped and now offer four classes of remote gambling licenses.

  • Class 1 - for operators providing online casino games, games of chance, and games that use a random number generator.

  • Class 2 - gaming license is for online sports and betting operators.

  • Class 3 - for advertisers and promotion companies that operate from Malta.

  • Class 4 - for companies that host and manage remote gaming operations but are not themselves operators.

Each license type has a five-year duration.

Companies that are granted a Maltese license are not permitted to take bets from the island's citizens.

In March of 2005, the first Malta Remote Gaming Council (MRGC) was elected. The Council encompasses all remote gaming operators and service providers. The MRGC launched an online forum for the purpose of allowing all operators and service providers to discuss legal, technical, and administrative issues.

In September 2007, Malta made the United Kingdom's "white list" of countries that match England's stringent gaming regulations. As a result, the number of licensees in Malta has seen a steady rise.

About Malta

Malta, officially known as Republic of Malta, is an archipelago located in Southern Europe. It is situated in the Mediterranean, around 93 km south of Sicily and 288 km east of Tunisia, with the Strait of Gibraltar 1,826 km to the west and Alexandria 1,510 km to the east.

Malta is composed of about 21 islands. But only the three largest are inhabited. These are Malta, Gozo, and Comino.

Malta is one of the world's smallest and densely populated counties, with a population of almost half a million people and land area of only 300 square kilometers (around 121 square miles). Malta's capital is Valletta and the largest city is Birkirkara.

The main island is made up of many small towns, which together form one Larger Urban Zone (LUZ). Malta has two official languages - Maltese and English - with Maltese being considered the national language.