Online Gambling

Online Gambling in Netherlands Antilles

The Governor of the Netherlands Antilles awards interactive gaming licenses pursuant to the National Ordinance Offshore Games of Hazard.

Applicants must first register with the Netherlands Antilles Chamber of Commerce as a locally formed legal entity, either onshore or offshore, and must state the island territories from which they wish to operate.

Once an application is completed, the Department of Justice will conduct an investigation. If at the end of six weeks the investigation has been completed and yielded no objections then the applicant can receive a provisional license, which will be subject to a number of conditions, including a 60,000 (ANG) guarantee deposit.

Online gaming operators may also obtain sub-licenses to run Internet gambling operations from the Netherlands Antilles. Host businesses may sub-divide their existing gambling licenses for use by partner companies, provided the arrangement complies with applicable fees ranging from USD $2,000 to USD $4,000.

License holders pay 10,000 (ANG) per month in license fees during the first two years. A new license fee can be determined after the first two years.

The island territory on which a license holder is located is entitled to demand a contribution of up to 2% of the license holder's net gains from interactive gaming.

About Netherlands Antilles

The Netherlands Antilles, known informally as the Dutch Antilles, was an autonomous Caribbean country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands, consisting of two groups of islands in the Lesser Antilles: Aruba, Curaçao and Bonaire (ABC Islands), in Leeward Antilles just off the Venezuelan coast; and Sint Eustatius, Saba and Sint Maarten (SSS Islands), in the Leeward Islands southeast of the Virgin Islands.

Aruba seceded in 1986 as a separate country within the Kingdom of the Netherlands, and the rest of the Netherlands Antilles was dissolved on October 10, 2010, resulting in two new constituent countries, Curaçao and Sint Maarten, with the other islands joining the Netherlands as "special municipalities", officially public bodies.